UK Countries and Capitals

What should we already know?

- The name of the country we live in.
- The name of the continent we live on.



UK Countries

- The UK is made up of four countries;
 England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
- England is the biggest country, and the smallest is Wales.
- The most commonly spoken language is English.
- Children will be able to recognise the flag of each country.

UK Capitals

 Each country has its own capital city-England- London
 Scotland- Edinburgh
 Wales- Cardiff
 Northern Ireland- Belfast

Key Skills:

Children will use maps to locate each country, and to then locate their capital cities. They will then use information sources such as laptops, iPads and information books and texts in order to find out more about each country and capital.

Key Vocabulary

United Kingdom- the sovereign state made up of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Capital city- the most important city in a country, from which the government functions.

Government- the people that run the country. Union flag- flag of the UK.

St George's Cross- cross that appears on the flag of England.

St Andrew's Cross- cross that appears in the flag of Scotland.

Assessment

- Name the four countries of the United Kingdom.
- Name the capital cities of the United Kingdom.
- Locate the four countries of the United Kingdom on a map.
- Locate the capital cities of the United Kingdom on a map.
- Explain what a government is, and how they relate to capital cities.

Union Flag	English Flag
Scottish Flag	Welsh Flag
Irish Flag	

UK Countries and Capitals

1. What does the UK stand for?
2. Which four countries make up the UK?
3. What is the most commonly spoken language in the UK?
4. What is the name of the UK flag?
5. What is a government?